Charter Standard

Wendron FC became were awarded the Charter Standard Community Club Award in July 2004.

The FA Charter Standard Club award was presented to Wendron FC on Wednesday 12th January 2004.

The presentation was made by the Regional Football Development Manager, Mr Phil Cardrew to outgoing youth chairman Joss Bray.

In attendance were members of the club, committee, coaches, managers and youngsters.

A brief history of the club was given by Joss Bray before Phil Cardrew presented the award. Phil then briefed the attendees on the award and future benefits to Wendron along with the next stage in the process to achieve Community Club status.

The club has over 250 boys registered. These play in teams in all age groups from under 8 to under 16, and then four mens teams to develop their football further through to adult level.

With continuing support from coaches, parents, committeee members and of the course the youngsters, the future for youth football at Wendron is in good hands.

Charter Standard Development Award
The Football Association, through its Charter Standard scheme, seeks to establish, reward and encourage good practice at grass roots levels so that parents and children can demand a minimum standard of provision from schools, clubs and holiday courses.

The F.A.’s Football Development Team works with County Associations, leagues, clubs and schools all round the country to award Charter Standards to deserving recipients.

The Charter Standard for Schools was launched in October 1999 by Kevin Keegan and Michael Owen as the first stage of the programme. The second, the Charter Standard for Clubs, was launched on 1 February 2001 by Harry and Jamie Redknapp. The third stage is the Charter Standard for Holiday Courses.

The Charter Standard, part of the on-going Charter for Quality scheme, aims to:
1. Provide a nationally recognised quality control ‘kitemark’
2. Improve the quality of provision for boys and girls
3. Sustain participation for players over a longer period of time
4. Raise standards

What are the Criteria?
The F.A., in conjunction with various bodies, has drawn up a set of criteria for clubs wishing to achieve Charter Standard status, here are some of those criteria:
– Self-certified screening of managers, coaches and officials
– All managers to have minimum of F.A. Junior Team Managers Award
– Commitment to attend in-service training
– Acceptance and promotion of Codes of Conduct
– Commitment to provide Mini-Soccer opportunities for Under 10’s
– Commitment to promote schools liaison and equal opportunities for all

Clubs that are successful in achieving the Charter will get access to a range of benefits:
– Use of Charter Standard Crest
– Exclusive Regional Workshops
– Access to Child Protection Training
– Kit and Equipment Grants
– National and Regional Awards
– Subsidies for F.A. Junior Team Managers and other courses
– Certificates
– Starter Pack, including posters, Codes of Conduct, Certificates
– First Aid Kit